|
264 FOORD ST |
Nova Scotia Tourism Region : Northumberland Shore
Description From Owner:
- Settlement began in Irishtown in the 1770s. Colin McKenzie from Scotland had a grant here in 1773. In 1873 Irishtown and nearby Churchtown amalgamated as Plymouth, after Plymouth, England.
- Disaster struck in 1992 when a massive explosion happened 350 metres (1,120 feet) underground at the Westray Coal Mine. When rescue efforts were terminated, 26 miners were dead.
- With permission from 'Nova Scotia Place Names' David E. Scott 2015
Address of this page: http://ns.ruralroutes.com/PlymouthNewGlasgow
Quick Search



