|
8829 HWY 215 |
Nova Scotia Tourism Region : Bay of Fundy & Annapolis Valley
Description From Owner:
- Urbania : Settled around 1822 and until 1860 known as Carleton. In 1860 the name was changed to Urbania to avoid confusion with similarly named places.
- The new name reflected the optimism of its settlers, coined as it was from urbis, Latin for city.
- A coral and shell cliff 15 metres (50 feet) high reminded early settlers of a man's nose and two robust cheeks. They called it St. Anthony's Nose.
- With permission from 'Nova Scotia Place Names' David E. Scott 2015
Address of this page: http://ns.ruralroutes.com/Urbania
Quick Search

